top of page

Summer Banana Quick Bread

My mom would make all variations of quick breads growing up. My favorite was sweet potato. It was the perfect amount of sweetness, density, and fluffiness.

When the grandparents garden would overflow with zuchinni, you can bet that we added into the recipe with a heaping cup of chocolate chips. So many ways to make quick bread!

I love my mom's old recipe simply for the reason that you can add whatever produce you need to use up. This is why we often made quick bread in the summer months. The garden is growing produce faster than you can eat it. Baking and freezing zuchinni cake, banana bread, all bring up nostalgic feelings for me.

This recipe is one that I combined last minute simply becacuse my house had at least two bunches of bananas that were on the verge of rotting. I was also in the mood to throw ingredients together and find out if it would come together in the oven.

I end up having more than my fair share of fun when I'm in moods like this one. Surprisingly, the recipe turned out without having to rely on heavy ingredients like butter, white flour, and sugar. It had all of the attributes that I would hope a banana bread to have.

Here I am sounding like banana bread should meet my expectations like I'm about to date it.

Summber Banana Quick Bread

Ingredients

1/12 cups brown rice flour

1 cup gluten free oats

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp sea salt

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

3/4 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp ground ginger

2 flax eggs (2 tbsp ground flax + 6 tbsp of water)

1/3 cup grade b maple syrup

5 very ripe bananas

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup melted coconut oil

Directions

1. grease a large bread pan with coconut oil and preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

2. in a large mixing bowl, comine all of the dry ingredients together. stir to combine.

3. make the flax eggs and set it aside to gel together.

4. in a seperate bowl, mash the bananas together until they form a baby food like consistancy. from there add all of the wet ingredients. stir to combine.

5. combine both bowls together and stir well until just combined. pour into your greased pan.

6. place your batter in the oven and bake for 60 minutes or until a knife comes out clean from the middle.

7. let cool on the stove top for 15 minutes, then slice and enjoy straight from the pan!

Recipes
Follow Me
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Black
bottom of page