top of page

English Scones for One

I'm back in my element!

Last Friday I hopped on a plane back home and traveled to the land of Cincinnati, Ohio. Cincinnati, you look fine. I easily forgot the rustic charm your city carries. My heart has been in Houston this past year, and it's carried this feeling of having two homes. It's been a struggle, but I'm trying to make myself as at home as possible during this transitioning season in my life.

Something Houston lacks that Cincinnati has an ample amount of? Historic, vintage character. In Houston's defense, it's such a new city and still developing. This old soul loves her lace, and row homes, and brick facades with glorious front porches, and her history. I should have been european. Or maybe born in a different time period? Either way, my heart may feel torn between cities, but my heart feels a little more at ease when I see doors and homes like the picture below.

I was in love with that door.

Since I've been home I've had more than one opportunity to experiment in the kitchen.

Let me just tell you, after being in a recipe rut for the past two months or so, I was so thankful to suddenly find inspiration to whip up something.

This past Sunday, I was in this mood for a scone. Of all things. Scones. So it was around seven that night and I didn't want to make eight or nine of these, I just wanted one. ALL FOR MYSELF.

I started looking for measurements online, and of course there are plenty of single serving scone recipes out there, but not vegan and gluten free with no refined sugars. I was already sleepy, I didn't need to fall into a sugar coma.

From there I adapted my own version of a perfectly buttery, flakey, and slightly sweet pastry.

Boom. I topped it with EarthBalance soy-free butter and my mom's homemade strawberry preserves.

Delicious. The bottom was perfectly golden and crunch but the inside was thick enough that it was still soft and warm.

I made this version gingerbread flavored, because I was feeling like Christmas in August. It's so adaptable that you can remove the spices with your own preferences, and swap the molasses for another 1/2 tablespoon of agave or maple syrup. Or you could remove the sweetner altogether and add rosemary and garlic for something savory. The possibilities are endless here!

English Scone for One (Yields 2 Scones)

Ingredients:

1 cup brown rice flour

1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon

pinch of ground cloves

pinch of nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon of ground ginger

1/2 tablespoon of baking powder

pinch of himilayan pink salt

1/4 cup of unsweetened almond milk

1/4 cup of solid coconut oil

2 tablespoons of add ins (chocolate chips, dried cherries, cinnamon chips, peanut butter, walnuts, etc.)

1/2 tablespoon molasses

1 1/2 tablespoons of liquid sweetener

1. Preheat your oven to 400F. Begin by mixing the dry ingredients in a medium sized bowl

2. Cut in coconut oil with a fork or pastry cutter, cutting just until you have small, round, chunks of dough in your bowl.

3. Add the milk and sweetener, stirring until you have a dough that's formed together.

4. Fold in your add-ins.

5. Form into a round shape on a greased cookie sheet. Cut into two portions, shaping your scones as you desire.

6. Bake for 15 minutes or until golden brown.

7. Enjoy both of your scones, or save one for breakfast in the morning.

Recipes
Follow Me
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Black
bottom of page