top of page

Your Favorite Chocolate Chip Cookie

It's been a hot second.

This blog has been such a work in progress. Granted, there was a lot going on in my life the past 12 months. All which is irrelevant to this cookie recipe, however I'm all for keeping it real.

Let's see. In the past 12 months I have:

-Left one job, began a new job.

-Left one city

-Moved out from under my parent's roof for the second time

-Moved to a new city

-Cried a lot

-Stressed out over adulting the "right" way

-Turned 21

-Got carded for the first time

-The above happened because I purchased alcohol for the first time

- Purchased a car

-Am now in debt thanks to the above

-Started paying rent (this is the worst)

-Stressed some more

That's quite a few negatives. I promise I've seen light in my life in those 12 months too. The above happen to just be the stand outs.

Because there has been so much filled with duty, bills, and tasks normally deemed to adults-I've decided that this upcoming year should focus a little on more what is life giving to me.

-Creating content for this blog is life giving.

-Cooking for loved ones is life giving

This is me loving my self a little more.

Eating chocolate chip cookies is life giving, right?

No? Okay.

Well, I promise you I was so surprised these turned out. I've cooked with almond flour numerous times before-but usually the only way it works is if you use it in a combination of gluten-free flours.

These are just almond flour though! I scored on this great almond flour from Costco. It was labeled "super-fine", instead of the typical meal like texture it tends to have if you purchase it from the gluten-free section at grocery stores.

You definitely need this super-fine almond flour in order to get the traditional cookie texture.

Feel free to experiment though. I imagine if you used almond meal with a combination of other flours you could get the same texture.

I haven't tested it out, though.

Your Favorite Chocolate Chip Cookie

adapted from Against All Grain

Ingredients

1/4 cup softened coconut oil

1/4 cup coconut sugar

2 teaspoons stevia

1 chia egg (1 tablespoon chia, 3 tablespoons water)

1 1/2 cups super-fine almond flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon pink Himalayan sea salt

1/2 cup dark chocolate chips (I used the 365 brand, the chunks are better in my opinion)

-Preheat the oven to 350 F

-Begin with softened coconut oil that's either been sitting in a 72 degree room (the temperature it softens at), or for a shortened amount of time place a bowl of a pot of boiling water on the stove. This will soften the coconut oil just a little bit. You don't want the oil to melt, otherwise it will melt the chocolate and the dough will be too wet.

-Combine the coconut oil, coconut sugar, stevia, and the chia egg in a medium sized mixing bowl. Whisk with a fork until the mixture looks fluffy and well combined. You may also use a standmixer for this step.

-Sift together the almond flour to remove any lumps along with the baking soda and pink salt. Stir until a slightly damp dough has been formed. Don't over mix, though!

-Fold in the chocolate chips until well combined.

-Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper and drop by the tablespoon for crispier cookies or two tablespoons for chewier cookies. These did spread a little bit, so make sure there's about an inch between each cookie dough ball. Flatten with the palm of your hand until they have the desired thickness you'd like to achieve.

-Place in the oven for 10-12 minutes or until the rim of the cookies are golden (not golden brown, too crunchy!)

-Remove from the oven and let them cool on the cookie sheet and "bake" a further 5 minutes. Then transfer to a cooling rack.

-Enjoy with almond milk, or my room mate ate hers with a spoonful of peanut butter on top.

**NOTE

You may also sub an egg if you there is a void of chia seeds in your pantry.

-Abbey

Recipes
Follow Me
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Black
bottom of page