top of page

Green Smoothie Power Bowl

I'd like to say that I've become a great smoothie maker. An aficionado, if I do say so myself.

That wasn't always the case, and I've definitely improved over the years either by trial and error or just sheer luck. I do remember the not so distant past of icy, grey, slush that tasted exactly how you would imagine it to.

Now I like to think I know the amount of fruit to veggies, the right superfoods that won't make your drink taste like grass or turn the color of tar, but compliment the fruits or healthy fats.

Smoothie bowls are a pretty similar process upon creating-except you have to be careful with the add ins since typically bowls are thicker and have an ice cream like texture. Think of it as eating a yogurt parfait for breakfast. You wouldn't want too much flavor in the yogurt to overpower the granola and toppings. Or maybe you do, I wouldn't though. To each their own.

This smoothie bowl has tons of healthy fats, because to be perfectly honest- that's all my body has been wanting recently. Nutbutters, avocado, coconut, seeds, etc. I know why my body has been craving only fats but that's another post for another day.

The bowl will keep you full all morning, especially if you decided to add in a scoop of protein powder, but it tastes like ice cream for breakfast.

Ingredients

-1 frozen banana

-1/2 an avocado

-1 large handful of spinach

-Frozen broccoli stems (yes, the stuff you cut off because you don't know what to do with it-put it in smoothies!)

-1 packet or dash of stevia

-1/2 tsp spirulina

-1 tsp maca powder

-1/4 cup of almond milk

Toppings: I used coconut, chia seeds, cacao nibs, and a big spoonful of almond butter

To make you place all of the large items like banana, avocado, spinach, and broccoli stems in the blender first. Then you throw in the powders and add-ins so that they don't stick to the bottom of your blender base.

After your ingredients are in the blender, cover all with the almond milk. Then blend away! Don't be discouraged if it takes a little while to blend up your smoothie, because there is less liquid it will be thicker. You may have to stop occasionally to stir with a spoon.

Then you pour into your bowl of choice and add your favorite toppings. Granola is always a good option, and I LOVE coconut on top of my smoothie bowls. Get creative, use what you love!

Enjoy!

Recipes
Follow Me
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Black
bottom of page