top of page

Trying Out Urthbox

Confession: I'm fascinated by subscription boxes & I may be kind of in love with them.

I think this trend all started with beauty themed packages you receive in the mail with samples usually from up and coming companies who wanted to get their name out there in the industry. About three or four years ago I signed up for one of said beauty boxes, and I really did like it for the most part-but felt like I was getting the same thing most months and from there canceled the monthly subscription.

I had never tried another box, because I had no idea how many different boxes there are out there! For real, though, friends...any hobby or love that you may have, there's probably a subscription box for it. I've seen morning devotional boxes, Harry Potter themed boxes, bookworm boxes, I mean it goes on.

This box that I've tried out is a snack box. Yes, please! I love snacks (but, who doesn't?). Urthbox offers a trial run with their boxes, and all you have to do is pay for the shipping of the box. Their sizes range from 6-8 snacks per box to 24 snacks per box. I decided on the small box which includes 10-12 snacks. They also have different boxes for different diets. Their four categories are classic-including your typical healthy snacks, gluten-free-which is all gluten free snacks, vegan-all certified vegan snacks, and diet-which includes all low carb/calorie/fat snacks.

I went with the vegan, even though I figured some of the snacks I would get would contain gluten.

For the most part I'm impressed with how many snacks are also certified gluten-free.

Okay, my box contained some really unique items. Most of the brands I've never heard of, but so far the stand out has been the dark chocolate almond butter cup with sea salt. I mean, how could you go wrong with that combination?

I'm also really in love with the True Lemon packets that were included. It's simply crystallized lemon, grapefruit, and orange that is then pulverized into powder and then add to water. This girl loves some flavored water.

Manitoba Harvest also included packets of their hemp seeds, and I've been a fan of them for years.

The price for the box I received is $30 each month, and I honestly would never pay that for the sample sized snacks I got. It was a nice surprise on my door step, but the customer service has been hard to deal with, and the size of the snacks is not worth that cost each month. If you really have an affinity for unique snacks on your doorstep, then by all means give it a go.

However, I'm glad this was only a trial run.

Do you love a certain subscription box? Or have you ever even tried subscription boxes? Let me know, because I like the concept-I just struggle to find one that fits my interests and shopping values.

Recipes
Follow Me
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Black
bottom of page